Presentation / History

The International Symposium on Reproductive Physiology of Fish (ISRPF) is an internationally highly recognized symposium, devoted to discuss and present the most advanced basic and applied knowledge in the field the reproductive physiology of fish and related areas. With its history of four decades, this worldwide scientifically well-established symposium takes place every 4 years, since its creation in 1977 by Prof. Dr. Roland Billard, in France.

The upcoming 11th edition of the ISRPF will be held for the first time in Latin America, a milestone in the development of this conference series with its previous editions in Europe, North America and Asia. To symbolically represent the great diversity of fish species found in South America, and particularly being in the heart of the most abundant and diverse niches of fauna and flora in the world – the Amazon rainforest – the city of Manaus has been chosen to host the 11th ISRPF.

Considering this diversity and the critical and in part even alarming climate and other global environmental changes, the central theme of the 11th ISRPF will be “New frontiers in reproductive diversity in a changing environment”. In particular, the term “reproductive diversity” refers to the huge diversity shown by South America species but also alludes to rich diversity of reproductive strategies observed in fish in general.

With respect to the “changing environment”, we intend to allude to man-made changes and the consequences of human activities leading to environmental changes, such as the global warming and the direct effects of the temperature but also pH value and CO2 concentrations on the biology of fish species.

Important dates

  • Registration from September 01st, 2017
    to February 27th, 2018
  • Submission of abstracts from September 01st, 2017
    to February 12th, 2018

Confirmed Speakers

Goro Yoshizaki (Tokyo University of Marine Science and Technology, Tokyo, Japan)

Olivier Kah (French National Centre for Scientific Research, France)

Manfred Schartl (Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg, Germany)

Minoru Tanaka (Nagoya University, Japan)

Samyra Maria dos Santos Nassif Lacerda (Federal University of Minas Gerais, Brazil)

Julien Bobe (French National Institute for Agricultural Research, France)

François Chauvigné (IRTA Institute of Agrifood Research and Technology, Barcelona, Spain)

Wei Ge (University of Macau, China)